The Single Life

Image

No worries, this isn’t going to be a Taylor Swift write up. I will admit her songs are catchy and her perfume smells amazing but I will stop there. I’m a single 24 year old. There, I said it. It’s something that’s very hard to admit when you live in the Northern Kentucky (NKY) or Cincinnati area. I honestly can only name a handful of friends and family that aren’t married or dating someone. It’s one of those things that I feel like I shouldn’t be worrying about at my age, but this area is full of couples. NKY and Cincy, while getting a little more liberal in thought, are still stuck in the early marriage baby in the carriage syndrome. The best way I can describe it is to talk about Sex and the City (SATC). Yes, I’m going there as well.

In SATC Miranda and Carrie go to a party of some sort where there is an abundance of single people. While it doesn’t bother Carrie or Miranda that they are the only single people there, the married couples seem to not only care but feel sorry for them. Miranda isn’t really sure how to deal with the, “Why are you single?” questions and makes the whole experience into a joke to avoid an awkward situation. Carrie gets annoyed at Miranda initially but relents when Miranda explains that she is sick of getting the “pity stare”. I’m a reoccurring victim of that stare. I don’t think single people mean to make others feel like they’re pitying them, but it’s a trend I know quite well.

I can’t really say that this is a new development. I’m not a relationship jumper, and it can be difficult for me to find someone I feel comfortable around. I have had one very serious relationship and a few other committed relationships, but I can be very picky when it comes to dating. If I like you, I like you. We could have something for a little while but it’s probably not going to stick. However, if I am enthralled with you, then that’s a whole different matter.

While I was infatuated with the idea of being in love single high school, I can’t really say I found it until college (Though I thought I found it waaaayyy before then a few dozen times). It wasn’t until I had the stereotypical can’t eat, can’t sleep, can’t stop talking or thinking about someone punch in the gut feeling that I knew my previous relationships were puppy loves reminiscent at best. Love has only happened to me once, and for awhile that was enough for me. It can be impossible to get away from first loves. Honestly, my last relationship made me so emotionally exhausted that I have found it hard to convince myself to commit to something since. I can’t say that it wasn’t amazing or worth it, but nonetheless I was ready to throw the towel in when it came to dating….

Not dating didn’t work out for me… it has never really worked out for me. I tend to develop crushes easily and have a positive outlook on dating. I look at every date as an opportunity. Granted, that’s probably a good thing, but it can also be it’s own form of self mutilation when it doesn’t work out. There have been a few close calls here and there, but as soon as there’s drama I run for the hills. That’s not to say that some of the men in my life have done the same….

Ok, hear my out on this one. I honestly think that a committed relationship is one of the scariest things I have ever done.  I’m not sure if that means I’m not saying that it isn’t wonderful. It can be amazing, it can be life changing, but no one can deny that at times it can frightening. Trusting one person, giving yourself to one person, committing to one person. It’s a big deal! I want to be sure that the next time I get into a relationship I know what I want. I don’t regret a thing about my life or my dating history (However, sometimes I think back and laugh at prior decisions) because I’ve learned a lot about what I need from a relationship and what I would like in one.

Alright, that was really serious there for a second…. Click here if you’re single and you want a laugh, I highly recommend this site. The site is geared towards females, but I can see men getting a kick out of this too.

About juliagoolia1920

I'm a twenty something wannabee writer, who is trying to figure out this whole adulthood thing. In my free time, when I'm not writing, I enjoy beer and Netflix. Preferably together. I gravitate towards Cincinnati at night and live in the burbs during the day. On my blog you will find reviews, anecdotes, stories and the occasional rant.

Posted on September 25, 2013, in Past Entries and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. I find it very awkward when people talk too much about relationships and I’m the only single one. I went out with some people last week and it was like I was the baby of the group.

    Lauren from http://www.shootingstarsmag.blogspot.com

  1. Pingback: SATC Wisdom | Madeline Scribes

  2. Pingback: Single people feel ‘ignored and lonely’ at Church | LOVE UNCONDITIONAL

Leave a Reply

Debatably Dateable

Just another girl trying to figure out love

GUM | Growing Up Millennial

& walking at the same time

Cafe Book Bean

Talk Books. Drink Coffee.

julia goolia

Aspiring Writer, Aspiring Adult

J'adore Journey

Inspiring people to live passionately, love deeply, and think consciously. ♥

In her shoes

"Life is either a daring adventure or nothing at all" - Hellen Keller

The Bold Bluebonnet

Adventures and blunders of a petite Texan

Some Good Eats

Eat and don't worry about it

trixtravels

22 year old Londoner, scratching off the world map.

Sara's Humble Blog

Posting things that matter........... to me.

The MAD MOVIE RANTER

''They call me Mr Over Critical'' - Just a guy moaning about film

Am I Thirty Yet

Hopefully by the time I'm thirty I'll have this all figured out.

{Michele.ology}

A late twenty-something attempting to maneuver her way through adulthood.

Someplace

...a blog about getting there.

