My Soapbox: Team Library

Image

I worked at a public library for seven years. SEVEN YEARS! I have always seen libraries as a second home. When I applied for the shelver position (A shelver is someone who organizes books and other forms of media and alphabetizes them on shelves) I honestly didn’t think I’d get the job. I was 16 and my only job was at a local swimming pool. Low and behold, I got a call two weeks later for an interview. I was the happiest 16 year old in NKY that day. Soon after my interview I received the job as a movie shelver. For those who don’t know, many if not all public libraries have media such as movies, CD’s, video games, etc. that are available to be checked out. So I actually shelved movies, TV show series and non-fiction films. I honestly think this is when my movie obsession began.

Film, is possibly my greatest obsession. It’s something that constantly comforts and inspires me. While I did leave the library for a different job, I haven’t forgotten the amazing people I met or how I grew up with the library. Libraries do so many things for the community, I have no idea where we would be without them.

  I was disgusted when I found out that tea party activists have successfully sued the Campbell, Boone and Kenton County public libraries. They want our library’s funding to be cut. That means free programs will no longer exist, branches might have to close and jobs will be lost. Many are not aware of this atrocity, and do not know how to become more active or show their support.  Please visit this Facebook page, it will give you immediate updates on the progress of this lawsuit.

“No other libraries in the country face similar challenges, Barbara Stripling, president of the American Library Association, told the more than 100 people assembled in Newport for a forum on the issue this week.” I remember each library visit that I had as a child. I looked forward to every visit and was that whiney annoying child that never wanted to leave. It hurts me to think that my second home is being attacked and torn apart. Our libraries are there as education centers. We have librarians who spend each day reading to hundreds of kids for story time, or thinking of what craft will inspire a child next. There are Microsoft Office classes for adults, resume classes, dancing classes and much more.

I’m a very passionate person. Libraries are deeply important to me. They encouraged me to love reading and to follow my dream of writing. They are second homes to many, first homes to some. It kills me to think that this lawsuit might not be publicized enough and Team Library might lose. While I know my blog is fairly new, I highly encourage your everyday involvement with your local library. I hope I have persuaded you to participate in this debate, if not I hope you will be inspired to at the very least check out a book, movie or a CD. Anything you can do could help us win.

On a somewhat related article, the state of Cincinnati has been awarded with the title, “Nerdiest State“. It’s an interesting story, especially since the Cincinnati Public Library has received so many award this year.

About juliagoolia1920

I'm a twenty something wannabee writer, who is trying to figure out this whole adulthood thing. In my free time, when I'm not writing, I enjoy beer and Netflix. Preferably together. I gravitate towards Cincinnati at night and live in the burbs during the day. On my blog you will find reviews, anecdotes, stories and the occasional rant.

Posted on September 27, 2013, in Past Entries and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. The fact that one of the libraries might close is a concern, because it could be mine.

    -Lauren from http://www.shootingstarsmag.blogspot.com

Leave a Reply

Debatably Dateable

But Poetry, Beauty, Romance, Love, these are what we stay alive for

GUM | Growing Up Millennial

& walking at the same time

Cafe Book Bean

Talk Books. Drink Coffee.

julia goolia

Aspiring Writer, Aspiring Adult

J'adore Journey

Inspiring people to live passionately, love deeply, and think consciously. ♥

In her shoes

"Life is either a daring adventure or nothing at all" - Hellen Keller

The Bold Bluebonnet

Adventures and blunders of a petite Texan

Some Good Eats

Eat and don't worry about it

trixtravels

22 year old Londoner, scratching off the world map.

Sara's Humble Blog

Posting things that matter........... to me.

The MAD MOVIE RANTER

''They call me Mr Over Critical'' - Just a guy moaning about film

Am I Thirty Yet

Hopefully by the time I'm thirty I'll have this all figured out.

{Michele.ology}

A late twenty-something attempting to maneuver her way through adulthood.

Someplace

...a blog about getting there.

