Wicked Celebration!

Image

I love musicals. I don’t always love them, but I do have incredible respect for any writer who can write both dialogue and music while making it flow effortlessly. I don’t think I could do that. Wicked is one of the musicals that I can say I enjoy every moment of. I can watch the entire show and run through a range of emotions. This play has meant a lot to many of my friends over the years, and it means the world to me. I admire the fact that I can be crying one moment and laughing hysterically at another.

There’s something that comes over me when I watch a great play. I get so emotionally involved with each character that I forget the outside world. While I realize the importance of intermission, I’m almost angered by the disruption. My favorite thing about watching a play is that each performance is unique. One night an actor can completely bring their A’ game more than usual or someone can deliver a line slightly different than usual. Of course those inconsistencies can be bad but it’s what makes the play more realistic. I had been in numerous musicals since I was 12 and decided to no longer pursue acting when I was 18. While it can be difficult for me to separate myself from wanting to be on stage, it makes me appreciate those who can act beyond my wildest dreams.

For those who do not know, Wicked is based upon the story, The Wizard of Oz. The original writer of the book, Winnie Holzman collaborated with Stephen Schwartz and came up with a brilliant musical. If you have kids, friends, family or a loved one-take them to go see it. It’s one of those musicals that I think everyone can enjoy. I saw it Tuesday night and despite almost being in the last row at the Aranoff Center, I still had the most amazing time. A special shout out to Alison Luff who played Elphaba, she gave me chills and made me cry once or twice. Also another special shout out to Alison Fraser who played Madame Morrible. Her accent was spectacular and I loved how she played her character. It was truly….. wicked 🙂

About juliagoolia1920

I'm a twenty something wannabee writer, who is trying to figure out this whole adulthood thing. In my free time, when I'm not writing, I enjoy beer and Netflix. Preferably together. I gravitate towards Cincinnati at night and live in the burbs during the day. On my blog you will find reviews, anecdotes, stories and the occasional rant.

Posted on March 20, 2014, in Past Entries and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

Leave a Reply

Debatably Dateable

But Poetry, Beauty, Romance, Love, these are what we stay alive for

GUM | Growing Up Millennial

& walking at the same time

Cafe Book Bean

Talk Books. Drink Coffee.

julia goolia

Aspiring Writer, Aspiring Adult

J'adore Journey

Inspiring people to live passionately, love deeply, and think consciously. ♥

In her shoes

"Life is either a daring adventure or nothing at all" - Hellen Keller

The Bold Bluebonnet

Adventures and blunders of a petite Texan

Some Good Eats

Eat and don't worry about it

trixtravels

22 year old Londoner, scratching off the world map.

Sara's Humble Blog

Posting things that matter........... to me.

The MAD MOVIE RANTER

''They call me Mr Over Critical'' - Just a guy moaning about film

Am I Thirty Yet

Hopefully by the time I'm thirty I'll have this all figured out.

{Michele.ology}

A late twenty-something attempting to maneuver her way through adulthood.

Someplace

...a blog about getting there.

