Pride Weekend Review

  Image  Image

This weekend was dedicated to gay pride in Cincinnati! While it was quite a small event in retrospect to California, Chicago and New York’s celebration, it was amazing to see. I unfortunately, didn’t get to participate as much as I wanted to, but their was still a lot of fun to be had. I was fortunate to spend my Saturday night with multiple friends of the LGBT community (I’m in the picture to the right).

As many of my friends, family and co-workers know, I’m a huge supporter of the LGBT community. In grade school I was really confused about the gay community. This is mainly because of my own naivety and I lived in a Catholic school oriented environment my whole life. In grade school and high school it was unheard of to be “out”. In high school I did hang out with a few people who considered themselves to be bi-sexual but came out as homosexual once they started college. While I’ve always known that I’m heterosexual not homosexual, I never understand why people judge others that chose either path in life.

Growing up in a Catholic dominated society has made me realize that I can only stick to my beliefs with the hope of changing others. While I’m not a religious person anymore, I live by the golden rule standard, “Do unto others as you would have them do to you”. I try (Try being the key word there) to be a good person and live a life that makes my family and friends proud. It physically hurts me that we still live in a society where gay people are not accepted. It pains me to know that my friends cannot get married to their partners.

While this is more of an opinion/ personal experience blog, I just wanted to comment on my feelings with this amazing weekend and what it mean to me. This weekend meant the world to me. Whether we realize it or not, Cincinnati (In my opinion) is gaining more respect in my eyes because they are finally having these kind of events. I love that I live in a neighborhood where I’m not scared to share my morals and my beliefs. Yes, this is kind of sappy but it’s really just a love post.

About juliagoolia1920

I'm a twenty something wannabee writer, who is trying to figure out this whole adulthood thing. In my free time, when I'm not writing, I enjoy beer and Netflix. Preferably together. I gravitate towards Cincinnati at night and live in the burbs during the day. On my blog you will find reviews, anecdotes, stories and the occasional rant.

Posted on June 5, 2014, in Past Entries and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

Debatably Dateable

But Poetry, Beauty, Romance, Love, these are what we stay alive for

GUM | Growing Up Millennial

& walking at the same time

Cafe Book Bean

Talk Books. Drink Coffee.

julia goolia

Aspiring Writer, Aspiring Adult

J'adore Journey

Inspiring people to live passionately, love deeply, and think consciously. ♥

In her shoes

"Life is either a daring adventure or nothing at all" - Hellen Keller

The Bold Bluebonnet

Adventures and blunders of a petite Texan

Some Good Eats

Eat and don't worry about it

trixtravels

22 year old Londoner, scratching off the world map.

Sara's Humble Blog

Posting things that matter........... to me.

The MAD MOVIE RANTER

''They call me Mr Over Critical'' - Just a guy moaning about film

Am I Thirty Yet

Hopefully by the time I'm thirty I'll have this all figured out.

{Michele.ology}

A late twenty-something attempting to maneuver her way through adulthood.

Someplace

...a blog about getting there.

