A Mind is a Terrible Thing To Waste…

178282025

Most of my time is spent at work. This isn’t shocking since most Americans have consuming job(s). In all honesty 40 hours a week isn’t all the bad, it’s short actually. So why do I feel like I never have enough free time? I could chalk it all up to sheer exhaustion, but I’m positively sure that’s not true. I think the main reason I feel so anxious once I get out of work is because I still haven’t convinced myself that I’m an adult just yet. Obviously, I tried to say the exact opposite when I was only 18 years old, but lets be honest. Maturity doesn’t occur to humans until they’re around the age of 24 or 25. There’s always going to be exceptions, but for the most part it’s true.

I bought a house when I was 23. At the time I thought I was sane and a put together individual. In some ways, I was, it was a good decision-but maybe not the BEST decision. I moved out of my parent’s house and bought my own house when I was 23. While I’m glad I did it, I wish I would have waited another year or so. I didn’t listen to this however, because I wanted to move. My parents, while amazing and the best parents a kid could have, they make a lot of rules. So while I saved some money, I didn’t think it through. I should have saved a lot. Instead I only saved a few thousand.

Okay, so while this might seem like another, “I can’t believe I’m grown up” post. This post is mainly directed to those who still live with their parents. It used to be such a stigma, living with your parents was equated to dating a felon. Now, it should be a common thing. It is expensive to live on your own! Even if you have a roommate, living outside of your parent’s house is expensive. You think of things like, “Oh crap, I need scissors. Mom used to buy scissors, why don’t I have one pair of scissors?

So yes, there is a negative connotation to living with your parents in your twenties. Why should it be though. There should be no shame in wanting to be financially smart and stick with your parents for another year or so. Do you ever feel like it’s impossible to find a full time  job? I even have a full time job and I still struggle with surviving money wise.

About juliagoolia1920

I'm a twenty something wannabee writer, who is trying to figure out this whole adulthood thing. In my free time, when I'm not writing, I enjoy beer and Netflix. Preferably together. I gravitate towards Cincinnati at night and live in the burbs during the day. On my blog you will find reviews, anecdotes, stories and the occasional rant.

Posted on July 18, 2014, in Past Entries and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

Debatably Dateable

Just another girl trying to figure out love

GUM | Growing Up Millennial

& walking at the same time

Cafe Book Bean

Talk Books. Drink Coffee.

julia goolia

Aspiring Writer, Aspiring Adult

J'adore Journey

Inspiring people to live passionately, love deeply, and think consciously. ♥

In her shoes

"Life is either a daring adventure or nothing at all" - Hellen Keller

The Bold Bluebonnet

Adventures and blunders of a petite Texan

Some Good Eats

Eat and don't worry about it

trixtravels

22 year old Londoner, scratching off the world map.

Sara's Humble Blog

Posting things that matter........... to me.

The MAD MOVIE RANTER

''They call me Mr Over Critical'' - Just a guy moaning about film

Am I Thirty Yet

Hopefully by the time I'm thirty I'll have this all figured out.

{Michele.ology}

A late twenty-something attempting to maneuver her way through adulthood.

Someplace

...a blog about getting there.

