Queen City Underground Tour in Over the Rhine

10632721_493150810820453_4818748084869012696_n

I was looking for some present ideas for my best friend for his birthday when I came across the American Legacy Tours on Groupon. First of all, for two tickets it was only $20. That’s a pretty amazing deal for a tour! Second of all, my best friend and I love Over the Rhine (OTR). So it was a win, win. His birthday and my birthday fall around the end of November so buying stuff for his birthday and Christmas can be kind of challenging financially, so I’m spacing it out and taking a friend’s advice and giving people “experience gifts” instead of physical ones.

When we arrived at the destination we had already purchased some coffee from our beloved Coffee Emporium where I was delighted to have a scrumptious pumpkin spice latte (I’m all about fall). The weather was glorious and I was excited to get my learn on. It’s amazing how many things you miss when you walk past the same buildings everyday (The gallery of photos to the right of this post is in order of the tour). The first picture I took was of a building where the majority of our politicians made the big decisions that still are apart of our lives today. I had no idea that building was even there. I have probably passed it a dozen times and didn’t even know it existed. Sure, it’s beaten down and a bit worse for wear, but it’s history.

I won’t go into detail about each historic landmark we visited but I will say that this tour was very educational for me. My favorite part was going to the John Kauffman Brewery, which was where the underground part came into play. I love old buildings and houses. Apparently the brewery was built underground in 1856 so that the beer could reach a 45 degree fermentation level that it needed. Of course, refrigeration wasn’t around then, so underground was the only way to go. It definitely interested me, and well I love beer.

I have loved OTR for about three years now. John (Jon?), our tour guide, made a point of saying how we’re very lucky that OTR is now a place of growth and has seemed to appear on the radar on other countries. It’s been a great place to go to and it’s sad to say that it wasn’t always that way. In 2009 OTR was named the most dangerous city in America. That’s something I can hardly fathom since I have lived in the NKY area my entire life. Cincinnati has always been a short car ride away, and was a place of fear for some. I was never encouraged to visit downtown because in all honesty, it wasn’t that safe and if you’re not a city kid, suburbans like me do not know how to equip themselves. Now Over the Rhine is selling out tours and the tour we went on was rated one of the Top Five Underground Tours in the U.S. by National Geographic. It’s hard to believe that in a few years time, Over the Rhine is no longer on the most dangerous cities list. I’m so happy to be in a city where we’re growing and trying to better ourselves.

Get your ticket here! I think I’m going to be going to the haunted tour here soon!

About juliagoolia1920

I'm a twenty something wannabee writer, who is trying to figure out this whole adulthood thing. In my free time, when I'm not writing, I enjoy beer and Netflix. Preferably together. I gravitate towards Cincinnati at night and live in the burbs during the day. On my blog you will find reviews, anecdotes, stories and the occasional rant.

Posted on September 15, 2014, in Past Entries and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

Leave a Reply

Debatably Dateable

But Poetry, Beauty, Romance, Love, these are what we stay alive for

GUM | Growing Up Millennial

& walking at the same time

Cafe Book Bean

Talk Books. Drink Coffee.

julia goolia

Aspiring Writer, Aspiring Adult

J'adore Journey

Inspiring people to live passionately, love deeply, and think consciously. ♥

In her shoes

"Life is either a daring adventure or nothing at all" - Hellen Keller

The Bold Bluebonnet

Adventures and blunders of a petite Texan

Some Good Eats

Eat and don't worry about it

trixtravels

22 year old Londoner, scratching off the world map.

Sara's Humble Blog

Posting things that matter........... to me.

The MAD MOVIE RANTER

''They call me Mr Over Critical'' - Just a guy moaning about film

Am I Thirty Yet

Hopefully by the time I'm thirty I'll have this all figured out.

{Michele.ology}

A late twenty-something attempting to maneuver her way through adulthood.

Someplace

...a blog about getting there.

