Top 5 New and Returning TV Shows Fall 2014 (Some Spoilers)

I love fall. I used to hate it. I changed my tune when I found out about pumpkin beer, pumpkin spiced lattes, TV getting good again, my love for cardigans and the general happy warm feeling when I light an “autumn” scented candle and don’t have the air or heat on. I grew to love it. I now am excited when a chill goes through the air (Not to be confused with winter, I detest winter). I tend to binge watch new and old shows when the time comes for premieres; so I figured I should blab my feelings of excitement and anticipation to you fine people.

Top Five New Shows

Screen Shot 2014-09-23 at 9.49.17 AM

A to Z

I actually watched the first episode already and was instantly intrigued. The concept reminded me of 500 Days of Summer, which is one of my favorite movies, because in the first episode we are told about the length of the relationship between the lead characters. The lead actress, Cristin Milioti, was actually the “mother” on How to Meet Your Mother and the lead actor, Ben Feldman, has been in shows like The Mindy Project and Mad Men. I like that it’s a romantic comedy that keeps you on your toes. For those Being Human (BBC) fans, Lenora Crichlow plays Milioti’s roommate and best friend, so set your DVR’s!

On NBC on October 2nd, to watch the first episode click here.

Screen Shot 2014-09-23 at 9.49.55 AM

Selfie

I love my British actors and actresses, I really do! So it shouldn’t be a surprise that I’m a huge Doctor Who fan. It’s also not all that surprising that I immediately watched the Selfie when I was given the chance by Hulu. Amy Pond, I mean Karen Gilan, is a self obsessed former dork turned social media beauty queen. Gilan runs into trouble when her social media life interferes with her daily life “brand”. Gilan seeks John Cho’s assistance since Cho is a PR branding guru. I love Cho, I had no idea he’s 42 by the way! He still looks like he could pass a 28 year old grad student. I have had a crush on Cho since Harold and Kumar, but I did enjoy his cameos in Charmed and Felicity. The show is a spin on My Fair Lady (I’m a huge Audrey Hepburn fan so that’s right up my ally as well), including Gilan’s name in the show, Eliza Dooley. Overall, the show is a cutesy comedy with some great casting.

On NBC on September 30th watch first episode here.

Screen Shot 2014-09-23 at 9.50.15 AM

iZombie

I have mixed feelings about this show. I think it has the potential of being a Warm Bodies feel with a Tru Calling plot (It’s actually a pretty decent show from 2003). A zombie eats brains in order to well… survive and does it somewhat morally by eating dead people’s brains and gaining their memories… Ok, well I love zombies. It’s an interesting idea and I will be excited to see where this show goes. The CW does actually have some pretty amazing shows in its repertoire. I really love their shows Reign, Vampire Diaries (Don’t care I love it), Emily Owens M.D. (Cancelled sadly), Hart of Dixie (Sadly, also cancelled) and the list goes on! Actually, that’s pretty much it but Reign and Emily Owens M.D. definitely has/had more meat to it than their typical shows.

On The CW but unfortunately there isn’t a release date as of yet, only a low res trailer.

Screen Shot 2014-09-23 at 9.50.40 AM

Constantine

I loved the movie. I mean, who doesn’t love Keanu Reeves? Ok… a lot of people maybe, but the man doesn’t age and I love Rachel Weisz! The movie/TV show is based on the comics, Hellblazer, which I haven’t read yet but heard was good. I did actually read a book based on the film adaptation once in church in high school and got a detention-true story. Anyways, I am looking forward to the show mainly because I enjoyed the film and such but I’m going to be honest and say that my expectations aren’t high. I really love the idea of Constantine. I really haven’t ever been attracted to Keanu Reeves before (Besides of course his role in Babes in Toyland 2 when I was 5. Yep, this movies contains a baby Drew Barrymore, Mr. Miyagi and Keanu Reeves! Whhhaattt!?!) but the movie really made me look at him as a serious actor again since The Matrix.

On NBC on October 24th.

Screen Shot 2014-09-23 at 9.51.00 AM

Gotham

I love Batman. I was Batgirl for Halloween, I have Batman shirts, hoodies-you name it and I probably want it because it’s DC related (I’m a Marvel fan as well). I’ve been a Ben McKenzie fan since his way baby days of the O.C. so I’m pumped for the casting choices as well. When there’s a remake of a classic tale, I’m usually into it. Retold fairytales and classic movies are my jam. I can see this being a really inventive show, I don’t think DC fans will be disappointed! The first episode (Within the first minute of the show so no spoilers) shows Bruce Wayne’s (Batman) parents dying. I really love this scene from a cinematography stand point. The coloring, the acting, the script was just, good. Really, really good. There’s no other way I can say it. Watch it if you’re a comic book fan.

On Fox on September 22nd, watch the first episode here.

Top 5 Returning Shows

Screen Shot 2014-09-23 at 9.51.30 AM

Reign

This show doesn’t come out for another month or so but I can’t explain my surprise and happiness when I first started watching this show. It’s a taste of Downton Abbey, The Tudors and Pride and Prejudice. There’s romance, sex, violence, supernatural, drama and a twinge of history. Ok, if you’re a history buff you might have a real problem with this show. The fashion isn’t relevant to the time period at all, the real history is present but faded in the plots-but it’s fun to think about. In a time where love and marriage never intertwined we gain a real possible love story in our midst. I would call this the PG or PG-13 version of Game of Thrones, except not AS supernatural. Historical fiction lovers will love it.

Starts on the CW on October 29th.

Screen Shot 2014-09-23 at 9.52.00 AM

American Horror Story *(Some Spoilers)*

The first season of this show left me wanting more. I had fallen out of love with Ryan Murphy’s work for a bit when Glee started to flop after the third season and NipTuck continued to become appalling uncomfortable. Granted, I think that Ryan Murphy is a twisted genius but any show is hard to maintain after a season or two. I stopped watching American Horror Story during the second season. Yes, that’s right, even the beloved and adorable Evan Peters and sexy Adam Levine couldn’t keep me watching. I couldn’t handle Zachary Quinto’s creepiness and I abhor alien like plots. It had its moments of beautiful writing but it turned too dark for me. The third season drew me in again with it’s talks of a Violet (Taissa Farmiga) and Kit reunion. I’m excited for this upcoming season, despite the possibility of clowns.

On October 8th on FX.

Screen Shot 2014-09-23 at 9.53.22 AM

About a Boy

Nicholas Holt made every female fall in love with him in the original movie. Who knew he’d turn out to be such a hottie? Toni Collette’s caught a big break in this movie, or at least I feel like that’s when I started to notice her as an actress. I guess Hugh Grant was pretty dashing too… I still haven’t forgiven him for cheating on Elizabeth Hurley but he was lovable in Love Actually. Anyways, the show is simply too cute. David Walton is a hot lazy (At times) jerk but Minnie Driver and Benjamin Stockham’s sincerity make you completely involved in every moment. Watch this for cute warm fuzzy feelings!

October 14th on NBC

Screen Shot 2014-09-23 at 9.55.03 AM

Once Upon a Time *(Some Spoilers)*

I’m gonna be honest. This show became a tad bit dull for me until the end of last season. I’m a Hook and Swan fan; who isn’t? I whooted when Swan and Hook kissed at the end of the episode. I became upset when Regina and Robin failed because of stupid Marian. Ok, Marian isn’t stupid, she’s just trying to live and be with her family. I was just super digging the Robin and Regina kid in toe relationship. It was adorable. I was astounded when they made an obvious Frozen entrance, but they have seriously used almost every fairytale character. Where else do they really have to go? I’m excited about this mainly because Kristoff is being played by Scott Michael Foster, who I’ve had a slight crush on since Greek. Well that and the hopefully many Hook and Swan scenes.

Screen Shot 2014-09-23 at 9.55.56 AM

Walking Dead *(Some Spoilers)*

I’ve said it once, but I’ll say it again. I love me some zombies! I also have been on and off about this show for awhile. I am a huge comic Walking Dead comic nerd so I’ve been mildly unhappy here for some time now. Nobody liked Lori, I was never a big fan of Andrea (Because she wasn’t with Dale like she was in the books), I applauded when Shane finally died and when Dale died, I about lost it. However, I do like the addition of Daryl (He exists only in the TV show). I’m going to probably watch this show until it dies (Pun intended).

October 12th on AMC

What shows are you looking forward to this fall?

About juliagoolia1920

I'm a twenty something wannabee writer, who is trying to figure out this whole adulthood thing. In my free time, when I'm not writing, I enjoy beer and Netflix. Preferably together. I gravitate towards Cincinnati at night and live in the burbs during the day. On my blog you will find reviews, anecdotes, stories and the occasional rant.

Posted on September 23, 2014, in Past Entries and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

Debatably Dateable

Just another girl trying to figure out love

GUM | Growing Up Millennial

& walking at the same time

Cafe Book Bean

Talk Books. Drink Coffee.

julia goolia

Aspiring Writer, Aspiring Adult

J'adore Journey

Inspiring people to live passionately, love deeply, and think consciously. ♥

In her shoes

"Life is either a daring adventure or nothing at all" - Hellen Keller

The Bold Bluebonnet

Adventures and blunders of a petite Texan

Some Good Eats

Eat and don't worry about it

trixtravels

22 year old Londoner, scratching off the world map.

Sara's Humble Blog

Posting things that matter........... to me.

The MAD MOVIE RANTER

''They call me Mr Over Critical'' - Just a guy moaning about film

Am I Thirty Yet

Hopefully by the time I'm thirty I'll have this all figured out.

{Michele.ology}

A late twenty-something attempting to maneuver her way through adulthood.

Someplace

...a blog about getting there.

