Top Ten Tuesday: Favorite Movies

Since my other top ten post went over well, I decided to make Tuesdays top ten list days!

I’m a movie freak. I love film. I could watch movies all day and be one happy lady. Over the years my favorite genres of movies have changed dramatically. It all started when I worked at the library. I decided to make a list of my favorite movies, in no particular order, that I can watch over and over again. Some of these movies aren’t necessarily what I consider the “best” necessarily, they’re highly rewatchable though. If they are on TV I will stop and watch the whole thing.

*WARNING Spoilers Ahead*

Screen Shot 2014-10-07 at 11.45.12 AM

1) American Beauty

This movie is most likely my favorite movie of all time. I can watch it anytime, despite my mood, and still love it and fall in love with it all over again. The casting is excellent, the cinematography is gorgeous and the storyline is nearly flawless. My only critique is that the grocery bag scene that everyone makes fun of. It makes me twinge with awkwardness. It does however, make sense because Wes Bentley (Who plays Ricky Fitts) is kind of a weirdo. A hot weirdo with intense blue eyes, but still-he’s a little out there. His dad is kinda a weirdo jerkface though, so it makes sense. Every time I watch this I root for Kevin Spacey despite the obvious reasons why I shouldn’t. “Smile, you’re at Mr. Smiley’s!” Each time I watch it I notice something new that makes me obsessed all over again.

Screen Shot 2014-10-07 at 11.48.08 AM

2) Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind

This is the first “offbeat” movie that changed my outlook on movies. Upon watching it for the first time, I freaked out and felt discombobulated the rest of the day. I thought it was weird and I couldn’t understand why Kate and Jim had such a hard time being in love (I obviously watched this in high school). I was so used to the typical love story, that I didn’t even know that there could be a different ending. When I watched it the second time I was incredibly jealous of the writer, Charlie Kaufman. He created such an interesting concept. What if you could erase a person’s impact on your life? Of course, while the concept is fetching-I liked that Kaufman turned the story around and made an excellent point. While we all hurt and want to forget about our heartbreak, it was there to teach us. We grow from failed relationships. A great sad day movie, that still makes you smile.

Screen Shot 2014-10-07 at 11.42.13 AM

3) 500 Days of Summer

One of my favorite movies of all time. While some might think I love this movie because of my girl crush on Zooey Deschanel, it’s actually the writing and concept that I fell in love with. Scott Neustadter, the writer of 500 Days of Summer, did an amazing job of making you relate to Joseph Gordon-Levitt (JGL) in this movie. I actually hated Zooey Deschanel… well briefly hated her. I laughed, cried in this movie countless times. Between the random dance number, the Han Solo reference and the Ikea scene-I completely wanted JGL to be my boyfriend. He’s now my ultimate man crush. The narrator’s lines and the mix of reality vs fantasy is what made this movie so compelling to me. It’s a great movie to watch after a breakup.

Screen Shot 2014-10-07 at 11.39.38 AM

4) Sin City

I watched this movie over and over again for years. I would watch it once a month at least. I love it. I actually wasn’t aware (Despite working at a library, I know, shame on me!) that Frank Miller had written the graphic novel series until I watched the credits and saw what they were based on. Can we talk about the fact that some of the comics are almost panel for panel the same as the movie?!? While Miller can be a bit of a sexist jerk, (Almost every woman is either nude, incompetently dainty, or both that it makes me cry) he still can write an inciting story that encompasses multiple characters and threads their lives together seamlessly. One of my favorite story lines (I pretty much love them all though), is the first scene with Josh Hartnett and Marley Shelton. Josh has hardly any screen time in this movie, but he sure as Hell makes his time memorable. “I see a crazy calm, you’re sick of running.” Looovvee it. I never saw that shot coming. Plus, I’m a Gilmore Girls fan as well, so it helps that Alexis Bledel (Becky) is flawless from beginning to end as well.  I haven’t seen the new movie yet, but I’m worried because nobody who has seen it likes it.

Screen Shot 2014-10-07 at 11.29.44 AM

5) Princess Bride

This movie pretty much sums up my childhood. I watch it every time I’m sick, or when I need to be reminded that Cary Elwes was a dreamboat. This might be the reasons why I am in love with the name Wesley. Princess Bride makes me laugh and long for the 80’s (Just kidding). I love this movie because, while I hate to admit it, Robin Hood Men in Tights doesn’t hold up like this movie does. It’s so good… well minus Princess Buttercup being a damsel in distress 98% of the time. That does get really annoying. Princess Bride actually came out in 1987, a year before I was born, which completely trips me up each time.”Inconceivable!” Sorry, had to do it.  This is not a movie anybody should watch with me. I know all of the lines and am way too passionate about Inigo Montoya’s revenge speech.

Screen Shot 2014-10-07 at 11.29.14 AM

6) Titanic *Spoilers Galore*  (But seriously you have to know what happens by now)

I think this is another case of childhood memories. I know that it doesn’t have the best screenplay, it can be incredibly cheesy sometimes and I wanted to push Kate Winslet off that door into the Atlantic when she wouldn’t share her door (I got over it about 10 years ago though since she’s a great actress and everything) but I loved it. I was obsessed with this movie. I’d listen to the instrumental soundtrack non stop, I would stand on top of my couch pretending I was Rose and I read hundreds if not thousands of facts about Titanic in general. It was actually pathetic to a point. Titanic came out in 1997, so I was nine at the time. I was infatuated with Leonardo DiCaprio. I won’t get into it but I basically would’ve broken my own leg to get Leo to stop by my hospital room. Yes, I know what a weirdo I was. It’s ok. I now know I was made to be a fangirl. That’s why I Tumblr and I get along so well.

Screen Shot 2014-10-07 at 11.28.21 AM

7) Closer *Spoilers Galore* 

This movie is basically a montage of sexy liaisons with beautiful actors. I watched this movie at a young age (Or I can blame my incredible naivety) and was confused by it quite a bit. It came out in 2004 so I was a sophomore in high school when I watched it for the first time.  I’m not going to lie. I mainly liked it because Jude Law and Clive Owen are very attractive men but I did watch it because Natalie Portman was incredible in this movie. The concept of the love square was a really crazy thought to me. When Natalie leaves Jude at the end of the movie I was more than stunned. She ups and decides in a moment that she doesn’t love Jude anymore. I really truly was thrown by her declaration. Great movie, great cast and very enthralling to say the least. I will always be in love with the song “Blower’s Daughter” by Damien Rice because of this movie.

Screen Shot 2014-10-07 at 11.25.59 AM

8) Moulin Rouge *Spoilers Galore*

My favorite musical. Well, movie musical. I still count Phantom of the Opera to be my favorite musical of all time because Emma Rossum and Gerard Butler are too fricken fantastic, but it’s a play too so I feel like I can say Moulin Rouge is my favorite movie musical. I cried until I was sobbing hysterically and embarrassingly in the movie theater. I made my sister take a picture of the real Moulin Rouge in France which led her to feel incredibly awkward in the red light district. I know every song, most of the lines and well Ewan and Nicole are gorgeous actors. Nicole made me think that pale people can be pretty too. I’m saying it, THIS IS THE REASON I AM A RED HEAD. No joke. I admired her, still admire her, and think she’s too good to be true. Ewan made me weep. He does the best fake cry EVER. Love this movie.

Screen Shot 2014-10-07 at 11.51.14 AM

9) The Beginners

Words cannot describe how much I love this film. When I watched it for the first time I immediately knew it was going to break my heart, but in the best possible way. It’s so honest and I am (If you couldn’t tell) a Ewan McGregor fan. It’s never trite, it’s simple and true. I felt such a connection to this movie that I wouldn’t dare spoil it for you. WATCH IT!

Screen Shot 2014-10-07 at 11.24.25 AM

10) 28 Days Later *Spoilers Galore*

This is when I fell in love with zombies. I freaked out like mad woman when I was on the London Bridge on London because Cillian Murphy (Jim) walks this bridge in the first scene. While everybody is “infected”, we all know that means zombie juice. Let’s get real. Despite everyone surviving at the end, it was still a believable ending somehow. Murphy becomes animalistic, Naomie Harris (Selena) is understandably terrified and Megan Burnes (Hannah) is well… drugged out since the soldiers were bastards and were wanting to rape her. Not cool Christopher Eccelston! Ok, this makes it sound bad, but I promise it’s phenomenal. If you haven’t already, you need to watch the alternative half of the movie. They had this entirely different plot after Brendan Gleeson dies.

P.S. 28 Months Later isn’t as good. The first scene of the movie was genius, the rest sucks. It’s also weird to see Robert Carlyle again as the bad guy since he’s on Once Upon a Time now.

What are some of your favorite movies you can watch and re-watch again and again?

About juliagoolia1920

I'm a twenty something wannabee writer, who is trying to figure out this whole adulthood thing. In my free time, when I'm not writing, I enjoy beer and Netflix. Preferably together. I gravitate towards Cincinnati at night and live in the burbs during the day. On my blog you will find reviews, anecdotes, stories and the occasional rant.

Posted on October 7, 2014, in Past Entries and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

Debatably Dateable

But Poetry, Beauty, Romance, Love, these are what we stay alive for

GUM | Growing Up Millennial

& walking at the same time

Cafe Book Bean

Talk Books. Drink Coffee.

julia goolia

Aspiring Writer, Aspiring Adult

J'adore Journey

Inspiring people to live passionately, love deeply, and think consciously. ♥

In her shoes

"Life is either a daring adventure or nothing at all" - Hellen Keller

The Bold Bluebonnet

Adventures and blunders of a petite Texan

Some Good Eats

Eat and don't worry about it

trixtravels

22 year old Londoner, scratching off the world map.

Sara's Humble Blog

Posting things that matter........... to me.

The MAD MOVIE RANTER

''They call me Mr Over Critical'' - Just a guy moaning about film

Am I Thirty Yet

Hopefully by the time I'm thirty I'll have this all figured out.

{Michele.ology}

A late twenty-something attempting to maneuver her way through adulthood.

Someplace

...a blog about getting there.

