High School Julia Goolia VS Now Julia Goolia (TBT)

Screen Shot 2014-10-23 at 10.34.13 AM

Okay, I swear to only yeah about this for a sentence or two, but it’s my 50th post on this blog! Whooooot! I did it.

Anyways…. I was cleaning my room last night when I purposefully distracted myself by looking in a drawer I hadn’t organized in awhile. Ah nostalgia. On the left is a picture of me when I was a freshman in high school (It might have been my first day of high school I’m not sure). I went to a Catholic school so boys polos and navy blue or khaki pants were the norm. I was also holding my dog Molly, (Better known as Moo Moo-It’s a long story). I immediately dug this photo out because I was amazed by how I looked kind of the same but completely different at the same time. Yeah, throwback Julia was so naive. Aw. I would have so much to tell that 14 year old. Well, everything happens for a reason, right?

I’m a natural blonde… well my hair is more dirty blonde now, but in the summer it’s like I put bleach in my roots or something. I have to color it constantly or attempt to let it do its thing. I also had the dreaded invisible braces (Which you can’t really see from this pic thank God). It was a weird time of my life because I went from a grade school where I knew everyone to a high school where I knew two people who I wasn’t even friends with. I also had no fashion sense and had only discovered conditioner in eighth grade. So, lots and lots of changes! I’m not saying that I’ve dramatically improved in the looks department exactly, it’s just that now I know how I like to look and dress and how to accomplish that (At times). I had daily freak outs about my grades and what I wanted to do in life. I constantly stressed about the future.

My family and I were recently talking about high school and how much I had changed and it got me thinking of how unhappy I was in school (I still stress out but believe it or not I handle it better than what I used to). Sure, college was challenging and emotionally draining at times, but I was much happier in college. I finally had an idea of what I was doing and I was taking charge of my life. My dad actually had to coerce me into applying to colleges. Thank God he did so, or else I might still be poking around. I’m not saying college is for everyone, I think it helps, but I know that college was for me and without it I wouldn’t have the motivation to move on and move out.

I know that I’m reiterating a lot of what you already know to adults, but to my younger readers out there: DON’T WORRY! Do you not have your crap together? Are you not sure what you want to major in? Don’t stress about it. I was a mediocre high school student who had no idea what I could do in life, and only knew of what I wanted to do. If you have big dreams (I wanted and still want to be a professional writer) go after them, but be smart about them. I know that for me, writing was something I’ve always wanted to do, but I knew I needed more time to get me there. I’m still getting there! So, don’t feel like you need to know everything, because you won’t it’s impossible.

Alright, you have a time machine. What would you change about your high school self? Or, would you keep everything the same?

About juliagoolia1920

I'm a twenty something wannabee writer, who is trying to figure out this whole adulthood thing. In my free time, when I'm not writing, I enjoy beer and Netflix. Preferably together. I gravitate towards Cincinnati at night and live in the burbs during the day. On my blog you will find reviews, anecdotes, stories and the occasional rant.

Posted on October 23, 2014, in Past Entries and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. Be okay with being yourself and stop trying to impress the “cool” kids because after you graduate from high school everyone is on equal footing. Also, Tina Fey ends up being super cool, which is good news for you.

  2. I was such a mess in high school. I had braces, glasses, and back brace (that I refused to wear to school cause it was just too much!). I wish I could go back and tell myself that it’s not a big deal at all that you’re not popular. Enjoy the friends that you do have and don’t stress so much. high school is so insignificant. So many cool and successful adults were unpopular in high school.

Leave a Reply

Debatably Dateable

But Poetry, Beauty, Romance, Love, these are what we stay alive for

GUM | Growing Up Millennial

& walking at the same time

Cafe Book Bean

Talk Books. Drink Coffee.

julia goolia

Aspiring Writer, Aspiring Adult

J'adore Journey

Inspiring people to live passionately, love deeply, and think consciously. ♥

In her shoes

"Life is either a daring adventure or nothing at all" - Hellen Keller

The Bold Bluebonnet

Adventures and blunders of a petite Texan

Some Good Eats

Eat and don't worry about it

trixtravels

22 year old Londoner, scratching off the world map.

Sara's Humble Blog

Posting things that matter........... to me.

The MAD MOVIE RANTER

''They call me Mr Over Critical'' - Just a guy moaning about film

Am I Thirty Yet

Hopefully by the time I'm thirty I'll have this all figured out.

{Michele.ology}

A late twenty-something attempting to maneuver her way through adulthood.

Someplace

...a blog about getting there.

