Top Ten Favorite Music Videos

Welcome to top ten Tuesday! I have compiled a list of my favorite music videos for your viewing pleasure. Not all of these videos are based on my favorite bands, but most of them are. Some videos are oldies that make me feel nostalgic or some I quite simply find cool. I find myself coming back to these videos and I can’t help watching them again and again:

Screen Shot 2014-11-11 at 3.21.43 PM

1. Taylor Swift- Blank Space

Ok, I know this is new but I’m already obsessed with this video and song. Sorry if you’re not a TSwift fan but I seriously love this girl’s tenacity and taste in models. I mean, look at this man. He’s too gorgeous. Sean O’Pry is now number two on my list (Joseph Gordon Levitt will always be my main man) I do like the video, it’s gorgeous and it’s highly entertaining. I am infatuated with the line, “Cause, darling, I’m a nightmare dressed like a daydream”. So great! Taylor actually does have an incredible tendency to leave little one liners like that beauty in the majority of her songs. One of my favorite’s is “And you’ve got your demons, and, darling, they all look like me” from the song, “Sad Beautiful Tragic”. She did it again America.

imgres-1

2. She and Him-In the Sun

I have a slight obsession with this band, I’ve seen them live twice and own all of their albums. They’re new one is coming out soon too, I should’ve pre-ordered but I’m waiting on Target to slash the prices. I admittingly, have a slight girl crush on Zooey Deschanel and boy crush on M. Ward. This video is so cute and quirky, I love it! When it first came out I freaked out and immediately (I had of course, already bought the cd) bought the music video off of iTunes, which I never ever do. Warning, this will got stuck in your head for days on end.

Screen Shot 2014-11-11 at 3.41.06 PM

3. Strokes-Juicebox *Includes some sexually explicit material and swearing*

The Strokes were my favorite band in high school. I have a serious dedication to this song and video, I’ve listened to the song and have seen this video a few million times. You can definitely tell this is a bit of an oldie since Razr Motorolla phones are a thing of the past, but I think it still holds up. For me it was incredibly interesting because it was the first music video I ever saw that portrayed gay relationships.

imgres

4. Gwen Stefani-Cool

Gwen is a pretty swell gal. I have a slight girl crush on her as well. She’s pretty amazing both musically and in real life (From what I can gather). I have cried many times watching this video. It’s such an engaging portrayal of young love and new relationships/friendships. I fell in love with the song first but the video makes it even better.

Screen Shot 2014-11-11 at 3.47.44 PM

5. She Wants Revenge- Tear You Apart *Explicit Content*

I remember watching this hundreds of times in high school. This song was my jam. It’s done rather well, and while the band isn’t all that famous anymore, I still love to listen to this album from time to time. It’s really off beat and fun to dance to. Plus, if you’re mad or feel frisky, this is something you can easily blare in the car.

Screen Shot 2014-11-11 at 3.52.06 PM

6. Carrie Hope Fletcher- The Way We Were

Carrie is so endearing. I watch her Youtube channel, It’s Way Past My Bedtime religiously! She’s an impeccable role model and a huge inspiration to me. I have watched this video a couple hundred times. It’s a really great way to think of break ups and friendships and it also has made me tear up on occasion as well.

Screen Shot 2014-11-11 at 3.54.47 PM

7. Twenty One Pilots-Holding Onto You

If you’ve read this blog you know how obsessed I am with this band. If not, check out my concert review at Bogart’s and my review of them at the Forecastle Festival. This band is ridiculously talented. They are my new favorite band, possibly my favorite band of all time. If you haven’t seen them live, you must go! Find where they’re playing by you and see them. They are the most energetic, passionate, entertaining band I’ve ever seen! I cannot describe how happy their shows make me. This video is a particular favorite of mine because the concept is gorgeous and this song gives me chills and excites me each time I play it. Plus, they’re from Ohio. What’s not to love?

Screen Shot 2014-11-11 at 3.56.02 PM

8. Walk the Moon-Anna Sun

Do you happen to remember when I went on the Queen City Underground Tour? Well, this video was actually taped in Cincinnati’s Over the Rhine brewery district at the historic Mockbee building during 2011. I think I kind of knew this before I went on the tour, but I might have been more preoccupied with the the promise of beer at the time to actually absorb that I was where “Anna Sun” was taped.

Yep, you guessed it, Walk the Moon is from Cincinnati! Ok, I know I’m a bit biased since I grew up here, but they’re an insanely talented bunch. I saw them at Riverbend this summer, and they renewed my love for them again. I hadn’t seen them since the Bunbury Festival, which was also another freaking amazing show, and at the Riverbend concert they played their new song, “Shutup and Dance with Me”. Lovvveee it as well! Want to get ready for a night of fun? Watch this video! I actually know a couple of people in the video as well so it makes me love it even more.

Screen Shot 2014-11-11 at 4.05.12 PM

9. Katy Perry-Thinking of You

I’m a Katy Perry fan. I like pop music, so sue me. This video is cute and 50’s oriented and it makes me happy. This song (Not really the video as much) makes me want to cry and it’s so relatable! Have you noticed a pattern here? I like sad videos, might be a problem but oh well! Check it out. Plus Matt Dallas, the guy from Kyle XY is in it and he’s adorable. I swear I don’t ALWAYS watch videos for the guys… most of the time.

Screen Shot 2014-11-11 at 4.28.15 PM

10. Lucius-Go Home

Lucius is one of my new favorite bands. I saw them twice this year, first at the Tegan and Sara concert as an opening act (Which I neglected to write about for some reason) and at the Forecastle Festival. They really know how to make a catchy song. The first time I ever heard of the band was at the Tegan and Sara concert in May at the Madison Theatre in Northern Kentucky. My friend and I were excited for concert to start and I usually hate opening acts, not this one! I immersed myself into the music within a song or two. Their voices, lyrics and this video are what makes them so distinctive and original.

Want to recommend a song or a video I need to hear/watch? Please leave me an idea in the comments below.

About juliagoolia1920

I'm a twenty something wannabee writer, who is trying to figure out this whole adulthood thing. In my free time, when I'm not writing, I enjoy beer and Netflix. Preferably together. I gravitate towards Cincinnati at night and live in the burbs during the day. On my blog you will find reviews, anecdotes, stories and the occasional rant.

Posted on November 18, 2014, in Past Entries and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

Debatably Dateable

Just another girl trying to figure out love

GUM | Growing Up Millennial

& walking at the same time

Cafe Book Bean

Talk Books. Drink Coffee.

julia goolia

Aspiring Writer, Aspiring Adult

J'adore Journey

Inspiring people to live passionately, love deeply, and think consciously. ♥

In her shoes

"Life is either a daring adventure or nothing at all" - Hellen Keller

The Bold Bluebonnet

Adventures and blunders of a petite Texan

Some Good Eats

Eat and don't worry about it

trixtravels

22 year old Londoner, scratching off the world map.

Sara's Humble Blog

Posting things that matter........... to me.

The MAD MOVIE RANTER

''They call me Mr Over Critical'' - Just a guy moaning about film

Am I Thirty Yet

Hopefully by the time I'm thirty I'll have this all figured out.

{Michele.ology}

A late twenty-something attempting to maneuver her way through adulthood.

Someplace

...a blog about getting there.

