Top Ten: My Top Ten Favorite Video Games

Hey everybody, it’s top ten Tuesday! I have been playing video games since I can remember. I had all male cousins growing up, and it kind of turned me into a gamer. I wasn’t allowed to play much when my cousins were around, since I was a “girl”, but that didn’t stop me from falling in love with gaming. My parents also bought the original Nintendo, so when I got home I could rage on with Super Mario Bros. and Duck Hunt. My sister was actually such a Mario expert that families would hire her as a babysitter. She was the only kid in our neighborhood that could beat the game. As I grew up I thought I would grow tired of gaming and would want to move on. Turns out, not so much. Not only has every guy I’ve ever seriously dated been a gamer, but I find myself attaching myself to every new RPG that’s come out. I know I’m probably missing a lot of amazing games, but these are my absolute favorites. With that introduction, here’s the top ten favorite games… besides Super Mario Bros.

Screen Shot 2014-11-24 at 1.55.54 PM

1. Super Mario World 3

This was my game. I’ve mentioned in past posts that I kick some major butt in this game. I don’t brag about my gaming skills (Since I’m in all seriousness not that great at them) but I’m amazing at this game. I used to play this game over and over again when I was in grade school and some of high school. I loved Super Nintendo more than a teenage kid should. I was amazed with this game. The fact that Yoshi can turn different colors and fly, blew my mind. I still love this game to this day. It still makes me feel nostalgic.

Screen Shot 2014-11-24 at 2.19.41 PM

2. Streets of Rage

My cousins had a Sega back in the day and we basically only played Streets of Rage and Sonic on that thing. While the themes of this game are bad (You punch a lot of women with whips that scream like banshees) I still enjoy this game. I know I shouldn’t but hey, it’s the  nostalgia talking. I can get away with that right? This totally made me think when I got older, it’s a kinda weird game to play when you’re 10.

Screen Shot 2014-11-24 at 2.18.21 PM

3. Zelda

I never defeated this game and it still angers me. If you couldn’t tell, SuperNintendo was my console of choice. It was my security blanket. I lost many days to trying to beat this game and couldn’t get past certain levels. This was before I knew about cheats and guides. I was doing this all on my own, the internet wasn’t really even available for this sort of thing…. I sound so incredibly old right now. Oh well. I love this game, despite the fact that I never knew what I was doing.

Screen Shot 2014-11-24 at 2.22.51 PM

4. Kingdom Hearts 1 and 2

These two games stole my heart for awhile. I was a little embarrassed to play them in a way because Goofy and Donald Ducky are your sidekicks, but once you get over that, you realize the amazingness of this game. These two games mix Final Fantasy characters (I’m ashamed to say I’ve never really played any of the Final Fantasy games) and Disney characters and story plots. The games are more heartfelt than most kid’s games. This game got me through some rough times. Plus, a kid once told me I looked like Kari and it made my day.

Screen Shot 2014-11-24 at 2.23.11 PM

5. Star Wars Battlefront 2

Why didn’t I choose Star Wars Battlefront 1 you might ask? Because Battlefront 2 is a thousand times better! Ok, so I’ve noticed a theme. If you started out for whatever reason playing 2 instead of 1 you absolutely hate 1 and vice versa. Needless to say, they both are fun and will bring out your inner geek. I’m incredibly pumped for 3! I’m a sucker for any “Kamino” level.

Screen Shot 2014-11-24 at 2.23.32 PM

6. Resident Evil 4

Here starts the trend of Julie playing zombie video games. You knew I was going to put zombie games in here. I first started out playing Resident Evil 4. While the look/annoyingness of this game (I mean come on President’s daughter, get it together!) isn’t necessarily my most ideal choice, I really started to like zombies because of this game. I was terrified most of the time, but it still was freaking awesome.

Screen Shot 2014-11-24 at 2.23.55 PM

7. Last of Us

Words cannot describe my love for this game. Do I love the graphics? Yes. Did I cry? Yes. Was Ellie still looking way too much like Ellen Page and hellooo, isn’t her name is incredibly similar to Ellen? Yes. This game was like a movie come to life. I loved it. I really liked the attention to detail. A lot of people complained that the story line was too much and the game play too little. I didn’t care. I could play this game again and again, but I was scared about half the time I played it. It’s good. I don’t care what anybody says, this is way up there on my list of favorites.

Screen Shot 2014-11-24 at 2.25.07 PM

8. BioShock 1 and 3

Okay so why not BioShock 2? It was terrible. It has no introduction to the world of “Rapture”, they assumed you played the first one and being a Big Daddy was not fun for me. The fact that the first BioShock 1 didn’t even have a cut scene astounded me. The first game was a scary nightmare, I admit I watched someone play it the majority of the time, but it was thrilling nonetheless. I think I watched it being played in a total of two or three days. I think I was one of the last people to be shocked by this ending, I luckily didn’t run into any spoilers. The theme was marvelous, I love this era and was craving more (After I found out how much I hated 2).

BioShock Infinite didn’t come out for awhile. I was waiting and waiting, I had actually watched the gameplay trailer when it first came out. It was definitely worth the wait. While I wanted to wait longer so that they could make Elizabeth a second player option, I’m glad they completed this game and made it available. It is gorgeous and I was happy that I wasn’t constantly afraid to play it (Splicers are scary!). I was furious at the ending when I finished, but looking back I can say that it was more compelling than I thought it would be. The DLC (Downloadable Content) is pretty swell as well.

Screen Shot 2014-11-24 at 2.25.48 PM

9. Walking Dead-TellTale Games

I know. Zombies. Shut it. It’s awesome! TellTale is a beyond brilliant digital publisher that also created one of my favorite honorable mention games, The Wolf Among Us. I have never cried or have been as involved in a game as I was with this one. I had heard that the first Walking Dead game attempt kinda sucked but I was still interested because I loved the graphic novels and the show.  TellTale allows you to choose your adventure. That’s right fellow gamers, you actually choose the outcome of the game! It’s what we always wanted! This game makes my heart hurt and my creativity turn. The game is beautifully designed and it will make you think twice about judging zombie games. However, haters are going to hate, so check out their other games if you don’t like apocalyptic themes. They actually just came out with a Borderland series, which I know a lot of people are psyched about. I’m particularly jazzed about the Game of Thrones game that is supposed to come out soon! Play this game. It seriously will change the way you think. Another honorable mention would be the Heavy Rain series. I seriously loved this game but it was for the exact same reasons as this one. Choose your adventure gaming is the way to be.

Screen Shot 2014-11-24 at 2.26.52 PM

10. King’s Quest 5

This probably doesn’t count as a video game… but I had to add it to the list. My sisters and I played the King’s Quest games all the time when we were younger. I would say on a daily basis at a point. This is the one I remember the most. I loved this game because it was something you had to think about and try to figure out for yourself. It’s another piece of my nostalglic childhood.
What are your favorite games? Have any suggestions, please give me some!

About juliagoolia1920

I'm a twenty something wannabee writer, who is trying to figure out this whole adulthood thing. In my free time, when I'm not writing, I enjoy beer and Netflix. Preferably together. I gravitate towards Cincinnati at night and live in the burbs during the day. On my blog you will find reviews, anecdotes, stories and the occasional rant.

Posted on November 25, 2014, in Past Entries and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

Debatably Dateable

But Poetry, Beauty, Romance, Love, these are what we stay alive for

GUM | Growing Up Millennial

& walking at the same time

Cafe Book Bean

Talk Books. Drink Coffee.

julia goolia

Aspiring Writer, Aspiring Adult

J'adore Journey

Inspiring people to live passionately, love deeply, and think consciously. ♥

In her shoes

"Life is either a daring adventure or nothing at all" - Hellen Keller

The Bold Bluebonnet

Adventures and blunders of a petite Texan

Some Good Eats

Eat and don't worry about it

trixtravels

22 year old Londoner, scratching off the world map.

Sara's Humble Blog

Posting things that matter........... to me.

The MAD MOVIE RANTER

''They call me Mr Over Critical'' - Just a guy moaning about film

Am I Thirty Yet

Hopefully by the time I'm thirty I'll have this all figured out.

{Michele.ology}

A late twenty-something attempting to maneuver her way through adulthood.

Someplace

...a blog about getting there.

