My Top Ten Holiday Movie List

It’s top ten Tuesday everyone! I know I’ve written a lot of posts lately about movies, but I couldn’t resist writing a top ten movie list about my favorite holiday movies. So here they are, in order:

Screen Shot 2014-12-16 at 9.25.40 AM

10. Meet Me in St. Louis

This is most likely a weird choice for a holiday movie, but without this movie we never would have had my favorite Christmas song, “Have Yourself a Merry Little Christmas”. Judy Garland was the first person to ever sing this song in this particular movie. I love this song so much. It’s so beautiful and meaningful that I can’t help but love it. While I do enjoy this movie, I mainly enjoy Garland singing to her sister.

Screen Shot 2014-12-16 at 9.31.35 AM

9. Christmas Story

It wouldn’t be December without Christmas Story playing on TBS everyday! I have watched this movie so many times that I’m sure I could quote it. I like this movie a lot, it makes me get into the spirit of the holidays and it’s so darn quotable. I remember the first time I saw this movie I always wanted to (And luckily didn’t) lick a telephone pole to see my tongue stick. I’m glad I didn’t follow through on that curiosity!

Screen Shot 2014-12-16 at 9.36.03 AM

8.  Santa Claus

I watched this movie when it was in theaters, and received it on Christmas day on VHS the following year. Yes, I am that old people. I like this movie because it’s sentimental, Tim Allen is that funny jerk we all know and love, and it still holds up. It’s funny for kids and adults. It’s one of those movies that I still hold onto because it really made Santa feel real as a kid. The scene with Judy the elf makes me crack up now, but as a kid I thought the whole world was magical.

Screen Shot 2014-12-16 at 9.39.12 AM

7. Nightmare Before Christmas

This movie is arguably both a Halloween and Christmas movie, which makes it awesome. I love this movie because you can justify watching it from October until December. The effort that went into this movie is incredible, it’s brilliant, gorgeous and loved. You can tell that Tim Burton truly loved this film. This movie took years to make because of the claymation and that is astounding, I have a lot of respect for the whole crew. I enjoy watching this movie for the songs and because it makes my niece smile and laugh uncontrollably.

Screen Shot 2014-12-16 at 9.50.00 AM

6. Home Alone 1 and 2

Who doesn’t love these movies? Macaulay Culkin was in his prime, the idea had never really been thought of before and it was a weird nightmare/dream come true for kids everywhere. I remember wanting to eat pizza and ice cream by myself simply because Kevin did in the movie. This is also a heartfelt film, but I really kind of forgot how mean the mom is in this movie, but Kevin is kind of a handful. I count these movies as one because it’s impossible to choose which one is better. Yes, I’m totally cheating.

Screen Shot 2014-12-16 at 9.52.13 AM

5. A Muppet Christmas Carol

First of all, Michael Caine is Scrooge. So our beloved Alfred from Batman is in this movie. That’s reason enough to watch this and get excited, but we also have muppets. The old men in the muppet movies, Statler and Waldorf, are amazing in every movie they’re in. I love Chef and Animal too. They’re still funny even though I’m way over the age of 12. This is a classic tale, you need a little bit of a modern and funny twist to it. This is a staple classic, it’s adorable.

Screen Shot 2014-12-16 at 10.04.29 AM

4. Christmas Vacation

My sister is going to kill me for putting this in slot number four but I don’t think anyone else in the family loves this movie as much as she does. Granted, I will always watch this movie if it is on. I laugh and quote the movie along with my sister throughout the year. “Why is the carpet wet Todd? I don’t know, Margo!” Yep, it’s a classic and it’s fricken hysterical. Chevy Chase is a genius in this movie. It’s sentimental, funny and it will make you incredibly glad/sad if you don’t have a real Christmas tree.

Screen Shot 2014-12-16 at 10.05.29 AM

3. Love Actually

While this is a Christmas movie, it’s really an anytime movie. It’s a drama, a romance and a comedy. It follows many lovely British actors that of course are/were super famous. It’s one of the few movies where I actually care for every side story. I want to know what’s going on in each scenario. I find myself fast forwarding through the ones that make me sad because it’s also one of the few movies that I want each character to live happily (Not realistically). Plus, it’s fricken Rick Grimes (Aka Andrew Lincoln)! How can you not get excited that Walking Dead‘s star is pouring his heart out to Keira Knightley. Answer, you can’t!  Billy Nighy seems to be playing an older version of Tony Stark and Snape, aka Alan Rickman, is a bit shady, it’s great. It’s completely great.

Screen Shot 2014-12-16 at 10.22.15 AM

2. It’s A Wonderful Life

I really wanted to put this movie as number one on my list but my heart wouldn’t be completely in it. This is hands down a classic, a treasure and cinematic gold. However, it’s not my number one holiday movie. I don’t have to watch it on Christmas Eve or when winter starts. I love this movie because Jimmy Stewart is the American actor all of us can respect and love. He’s amazing. This movie holds up 68 years later! That’s truly remarkable. I like watching this movie because it’s a family favorite, everyone love it. My family gets emotional while watching it, and it puts your whole life into perspective. What if you didn’t exist in the world? What would’ve happened? I still wince when he gets his bad ear slapped by Mr. Gower.

Screen Shot 2014-12-16 at 10.30.37 AM

1. Elf

This movie is my number one holiday movie of all time. It’s a comfort film of sorts. I watch this movie every Thanksgiving and every Christmas with my family. Throughout the years my family and I will always reference the for someone special scene. It makes me laugh and it makes me cry when Zooey Deschanel starts singing at the end, it just does it for me. Yes, I know that I talk about Zooey Deschanel way too much. I have a problem. Will Ferrel makes this movie. Smiling is my favorite! Plus Peter Dinklage and Peter Billingsley (Ralphie from Christmas Story) make an appearance which is fantastic!

What’s your favorite holiday movie? Do you agree or disagree with my list?

About juliagoolia1920

I'm a twenty something wannabee writer, who is trying to figure out this whole adulthood thing. In my free time, when I'm not writing, I enjoy beer and Netflix. Preferably together. I gravitate towards Cincinnati at night and live in the burbs during the day. On my blog you will find reviews, anecdotes, stories and the occasional rant.

Posted on December 16, 2014, in Past Entries and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. Already watched all of these except Meet Me in St. Louis and Christmas Vacation!

  2. Great list. I love Christmas movies. Even those cheesy, made-for-TV ones that air on Lifetime or ABC Family. I once watched a movie where Melissa Joan Hart basically takes AC Slater hostage and forces him to pretend to be her bf for the holidays.

Leave a Reply

Debatably Dateable

Just another girl trying to figure out love

GUM | Growing Up Millennial

& walking at the same time

Cafe Book Bean

Talk Books. Drink Coffee.

julia goolia

Aspiring Writer, Aspiring Adult

J'adore Journey

Inspiring people to live passionately, love deeply, and think consciously. ♥

In her shoes

"Life is either a daring adventure or nothing at all" - Hellen Keller

The Bold Bluebonnet

Adventures and blunders of a petite Texan

Some Good Eats

Eat and don't worry about it

trixtravels

22 year old Londoner, scratching off the world map.

Sara's Humble Blog

Posting things that matter........... to me.

The MAD MOVIE RANTER

''They call me Mr Over Critical'' - Just a guy moaning about film

Am I Thirty Yet

Hopefully by the time I'm thirty I'll have this all figured out.

{Michele.ology}

A late twenty-something attempting to maneuver her way through adulthood.

Someplace

...a blog about getting there.

