Dealbreakers

Gotta love that Tina Fey!

When you start “dating” in grade school, dealbreakers don’t exist. If someone likes you, you go with it. In high school it’s pretty much the same ordeal, depending on how many people you have dated. If you’re quite popular in the dating game you might have standards, but I can tell you that I didn’t… like at all. In college I realized that the rules of high school didn’t apply. Guys could be attractive and like me without the worry of being claimed unpopular, so dating was actually fun in college! In college I learned that dealbreakers existed, or could exist for me.

So what are dealbreakers? Well, they can be anything really. While I have a type (Dorky, tall, nice, funny, preferably enjoys binge watching Netflix) I really date anyone that I have a connection with. I tend to give everyone a chance unless I know from the get go that it’s not going to work. For example, if I find out that my possible date only likes sports and doesn’t have any interest in movies, books or the type of music I like (Basically if we had nothing in common at all) -I will be reluctant to go out with them. I really don’t want to embrace my fear of sitting on a date not knowing what to talk about. I’m a talker, so I can talk about virtually anything, but there are time limits on all conversations. I can only talk about so many small talk subjects or mundane details. Or if I knew they hated something I hold dear, like one of my friends or family members-It’s almost a 100% unlikely chance that I will go on a date with them. Those are my main dealbreakers.

However, I do have other dealbreakers. I am a really busy woman at this point. I have to make time for my job, my family and friends. If the guy I’m dating is also completely busy like me, but is unwilling to make time for me and won’t hang out with my fam or friends. We won’t date. I want to incorporate the guy I’m dating into my friend and family circle. I really do consider my family and friend’s opinions when it comes to who I date now. If they hate him, there’s only a very very very slim chance I’ll see him again. Also, if you don’t pay attention to my whole family, it’s not going to work dude. I get that not everyone is a kid person, but if we’re dating you’re going to have to make some sort of an effort.

If we’re going to be serious, I also need someone who’s passionate. Many people are not in their ideal dream job, but they have to aspire to more in their life. If they’re not passionate then it’s hard to fall in love with them. I’m not saying that have to have passion about their career but they need to be passionate about hiking, music, writing, or their friends and family. Something! They have to have a reason to get up every morning. While in theory it sounds like being a person’s only passion would be life fulfilling and amazing, it’s not. If you’re someone who only has a mediocre outlook on life and you have no need to better yourself, I won’t find you as attractive, I’m sorry, but it’s true. We all have trouble liking ourselves from time to time, but you have to like yourself for someone else to like you. *Cough cough Corny but true!!!!!! cough cough*

I have preferences. I have things that I want in a relationship, but the ones above are things my dealbreakers. What are yours?

About juliagoolia1920

I'm a twenty something wannabee writer, who is trying to figure out this whole adulthood thing. In my free time, when I'm not writing, I enjoy beer and Netflix. Preferably together. I gravitate towards Cincinnati at night and live in the burbs during the day. On my blog you will find reviews, anecdotes, stories and the occasional rant.

Posted on January 25, 2015, in Past Entries and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

Debatably Dateable

Just another girl trying to figure out love

GUM | Growing Up Millennial

& walking at the same time

Cafe Book Bean

Talk Books. Drink Coffee.

julia goolia

Aspiring Writer, Aspiring Adult

J'adore Journey

Inspiring people to live passionately, love deeply, and think consciously. ♥

In her shoes

"Life is either a daring adventure or nothing at all" - Hellen Keller

The Bold Bluebonnet

Adventures and blunders of a petite Texan

Some Good Eats

Eat and don't worry about it

trixtravels

22 year old Londoner, scratching off the world map.

Sara's Humble Blog

Posting things that matter........... to me.

The MAD MOVIE RANTER

''They call me Mr Over Critical'' - Just a guy moaning about film

Am I Thirty Yet

Hopefully by the time I'm thirty I'll have this all figured out.

{Michele.ology}

A late twenty-something attempting to maneuver her way through adulthood.

Someplace

...a blog about getting there.

