Emotional Hangover

download

Gotta love Eurotrip!

Having a hangover sucks, it can damper your day. However, having an emotional hangover? That is truly soul crushing. An emotional hangover (Or at least this is how I interpret it) is when you have feelings that last from one day to the next morning. Emotional hangovers can come in many forms: regret, sadness, remorse or it can be something you were completely embarrassed by. It’s that feeling that makes you wince the whole day when you remember that moment, it gives you a headache and your stomach borders on nausea the whole day. The worst is when you have an emotional hangover coinciding with an actual hangover. Basically, your worst nightmare, especially if it’s during the work week.

Unfortunately, I have emotional hangovers a lot. It can be something simple that makes me upset. I upset a friend unintentionally, I messed up something I could’ve been better at or I remember something that makes me cringe and I can’t let it go. I know that everything happens for a reason. Everyone has to make mistakes because we would never learn otherwise, but it sure does suck at the time. I don’t deal with emotional hangovers well. I tend to analyze everything in my life in general, so when something bad actually happens, all Hell breaks loose.

I don’t have the easiest time with letting go. I try to take control of everything in my life, and that obviously doesn’t work out well for me 90% of the time. If I try to sit there and change things, I might as well never leave my house. I have to learn how to adapt quickly to change and realize that it might burn now, but it will heal later on.

How do you deal with your emotional hangovers?

About juliagoolia1920

I'm a twenty something wannabee writer, who is trying to figure out this whole adulthood thing. In my free time, when I'm not writing, I enjoy beer and Netflix. Preferably together. I gravitate towards Cincinnati at night and live in the burbs during the day. On my blog you will find reviews, anecdotes, stories and the occasional rant.

Posted on February 6, 2015, in Past Entries and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Eating your feelings or venting helps

Leave a Reply

Debatably Dateable

Just another girl trying to figure out love

GUM | Growing Up Millennial

& walking at the same time

Cafe Book Bean

Talk Books. Drink Coffee.

julia goolia

Aspiring Writer, Aspiring Adult

J'adore Journey

Inspiring people to live passionately, love deeply, and think consciously. ♥

In her shoes

"Life is either a daring adventure or nothing at all" - Hellen Keller

The Bold Bluebonnet

Adventures and blunders of a petite Texan

Some Good Eats

Eat and don't worry about it

trixtravels

22 year old Londoner, scratching off the world map.

Sara's Humble Blog

Posting things that matter........... to me.

The MAD MOVIE RANTER

''They call me Mr Over Critical'' - Just a guy moaning about film

Am I Thirty Yet

Hopefully by the time I'm thirty I'll have this all figured out.

{Michele.ology}

A late twenty-something attempting to maneuver her way through adulthood.

Someplace

...a blog about getting there.

