Thursday Favorites: Cincinnati Edition

Hey everybody! Sorry for the lack of blogging. Work has been a bit crazy and I’ve been more busy outside of work as well. Can I slightly exaggerate and say that I was doing blog research this whole time? Well, let’s go with that! Today I will be talking about a few of my favorite things I’ve done while I wasn’t blogging. While I do realize I talk about Cincinnati a lot, this time I will be reflecting about food, beer and desserts I enjoy all around the Cincinnati area!

IMAG1674 IMAG1673 IMAG1670

Hello Honey

Hello Honey is one of my favorite ice cream places that I’ve never talked about on this blog. It’s adorable, it’s local and they put toasted marshmallows on ice cream guys! They change their flavors from time to time but I really enjoy the seasonal additions. I personally enjoy the salted caramel ice cream. This beauty is located downtown on Vine.

IMAG1644 IMAG1646 IMAG1645IMAG1642IMAG1643

MadTree Brewery

Those who know me, know that I love local breweries, especially MadTree. I’ve only been to this brewery once or twice before but when I headed out there last weekend I was reminded why this place rules. The brewery is massive and they’re always trying out new beers, I liked Suncrest because it reminded me of a smoother version of a Blue Moon. Since it’s getting warmer outside there is cornhole and the patio is the place to be! Not to mention it’s pet friendly and you can buy some cute t-shirts! This brewery is located on Kennedy Avenue, so it’s a bit of a drive for some, but it’s worth it (And yes the guys in that photo were completely photobombing us and it was hilarious to see it after the picture was taken).

IMAG1607

Eli’s BBQ

So I had heard about Eli’s for awhile now, but now I’m officially obsessed. This place is fricken fantastic! Not only is your food cheap, it’s mouth wateringly delicious. The mash potatoes melt in your mouth, the pulled pork makes you take huge bites instead of small bites and it’s a bring your own beer location. BYOB! My boyfriend actually took me to this place on on one of our first dates. It was a bit cold then so we didn’t get a chance to eat outside, but since then I’ve gone back and enjoyed some pulled pork on a picnic bench with some MadTree actually. I wish that Eli’s was in a more convenient location (It’s on Riverside Drive), but other than that it’s amazing.

Honorable Mention:

IMAG1629 IMAG1630
Sprout Market & Eatery

I put Sprout Market & Eatery, which is located in the Mount Adams area,  as an honorable mention because while I really enjoyed my meal, I am a hungry girl. The portions, which I should know by now are going to be small for scallops, were too small for me. I left Sprout rather hungry because there wasn’t a whole lot of food there to eat. My friend and I really enjoyed our meals but it felt more like lunch options and less like dinner options. I would highly recommend this eatery for lunch though!

I’m always looking for some new places to review, so please, give me your suggestions! What do you like to do in Cincinnati?

About juliagoolia1920

I'm a twenty something wannabee writer, who is trying to figure out this whole adulthood thing. In my free time, when I'm not writing, I enjoy beer and Netflix. Preferably together. I gravitate towards Cincinnati at night and live in the burbs during the day. On my blog you will find reviews, anecdotes, stories and the occasional rant.

Posted on April 16, 2015, in Past Entries and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Great pics! MadTree Brewery looks awesome.

Leave a Reply

Debatably Dateable

Just another girl trying to figure out love

GUM | Growing Up Millennial

& walking at the same time

Cafe Book Bean

Talk Books. Drink Coffee.

julia goolia

Aspiring Writer, Aspiring Adult

J'adore Journey

Inspiring people to live passionately, love deeply, and think consciously. ♥

In her shoes

"Life is either a daring adventure or nothing at all" - Hellen Keller

The Bold Bluebonnet

Adventures and blunders of a petite Texan

Some Good Eats

Eat and don't worry about it

trixtravels

22 year old Londoner, scratching off the world map.

Sara's Humble Blog

Posting things that matter........... to me.

The MAD MOVIE RANTER

''They call me Mr Over Critical'' - Just a guy moaning about film

Am I Thirty Yet

Hopefully by the time I'm thirty I'll have this all figured out.

{Michele.ology}

A late twenty-something attempting to maneuver her way through adulthood.

Someplace

...a blog about getting there.

