Throwback Thursday: Being a Waitress/Server

IMAG0810 IMAG1264

The picture on the left is kind of terrible but that was me only a few months ago. I’ve mentioned that I worked at a restaurant for a couple of months in order to pay off some debt and such. I ended up working at this restaurant for six months or so. I did their social media and I served meals on the side. Granted, it wasn’t the worst job. I was paid well and it was in a higher scale restaurant with some lovely people. I got lucky. However, working two jobs was hard. It was one of the hardest things I have ever had to do.

I could write a book about the woes of working events and the food industry but in reality I only saw a glimpse of it. I was seriously one of the worst servers ever. EVER. I did manage to get everybody’s order correct (I might have had them switch plates with someone else at the table but it was the right meal) and I think I knew the menu pretty well (I had a cheat sheet with all of the items I didn’t understand). I dropped silverware all the time, I broke a few glasses and I never opened a wine bottle in front of a table for fear of breaking the bottle. I was mediocre at best, but I wasn’t the worst. It’s harder than it looks guys. I had to remember what table number I had, what seat number which guest was in. I had to remember the specials, sell the specials and clock things in on time. I hardly ever remembered all of the drinks that people had. I would write them down but I might be a glass or two short.

What really blew my mind was the amount of money people would spend on a meal. Granted, they had the money. This was an exclusive restaurant, but I can’t imagine ever spending more than $75 on a meal for two. There were many tables that would spend gobs more than that. It drove me crazy. It’s somewhat ironic that people who are so desperately trying to make money are serving those who had a lot of money. I know that this often happens, and I shouldn’t be surprised, but it was a great life lesson. Now, I know where the silverware and my napkin goes. I can fold napkins in numerous shapes, I now say pardon me much more and I can carry a lot of plates in one go (Not as many as great servers but I can hold way more than I thought). When I go to restaurants I try to make the server’s job easier. I will gather the table’s plates and arrange the silverware and napkin so it’s easier for them to get.

What I’m trying to say is that each job in life is hard. Sometimes people will snub servers or the food industry. It’s hard work people. I learned it the hard way. I really learned a valuable life lesson from this job. What life lesson have you learned from your job?

Are you a server? Need a laugh? 

About juliagoolia1920

I'm a twenty something wannabee writer, who is trying to figure out this whole adulthood thing. In my free time, when I'm not writing, I enjoy beer and Netflix. Preferably together. I gravitate towards Cincinnati at night and live in the burbs during the day. On my blog you will find reviews, anecdotes, stories and the occasional rant.

Posted on April 30, 2015, in Past Entries and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. Great post. I would also add my years as a server taught me a great deal about people and body language. Even now in a completely unrelated job I know to feed grumpy people for better meeting outcomes and when people push away from the table, they’ve had enough of whatever it is you’re serving up.

  2. primusgamereviews

    You really get to appreciate people who when you attempt to do it the same work they do- you become empathetic. I definitely learned to appreciate developers of software from my past experience. There is so much logic, long hours and hard work put into games and software that its unbelievable.

Leave a Reply

Debatably Dateable

Just another girl trying to figure out love

GUM | Growing Up Millennial

& walking at the same time

Cafe Book Bean

Talk Books. Drink Coffee.

julia goolia

Aspiring Writer, Aspiring Adult

J'adore Journey

Inspiring people to live passionately, love deeply, and think consciously. ♥

In her shoes

"Life is either a daring adventure or nothing at all" - Hellen Keller

The Bold Bluebonnet

Adventures and blunders of a petite Texan

Some Good Eats

Eat and don't worry about it

trixtravels

22 year old Londoner, scratching off the world map.

Sara's Humble Blog

Posting things that matter........... to me.

The MAD MOVIE RANTER

''They call me Mr Over Critical'' - Just a guy moaning about film

Am I Thirty Yet

Hopefully by the time I'm thirty I'll have this all figured out.

{Michele.ology}

A late twenty-something attempting to maneuver her way through adulthood.

Someplace

...a blog about getting there.

