Say What You Want to Say


Hi everyone! Did you miss me? I missed writing! I’ve been really stressed out lately. To the point where I have stress cleaned the crap out of my house, broke down crying once this week and played three hours of video games to avoid sleeping. No, it’s not healthy. Yes, I am trying to change it. However, sometimes you can’t change the situation, you can only change how you feel about it… which annoys me immensely. If you keep trying to change your predicament or you’re unable to change your problem, you’re stuck with the facts. Nothing is going to change, that means you have to. Coming to that realization is hard enough to face, but to actually change your mood about it is quite difficult.

I might have mentioned in a past post that I try to do something that scares me everyday. Whether that’s say exactly what I’m thinking (Hence the above video and post title) or it’s doing something I want to do even though I’m terrified of the consequences. This week I’ve pushed my limits a bit. I wasn’t the usual pushover I usually am (I liked to think I’m laid back but I definitely think it’s a combination of both). I was a bit more feisty in a conversation than I needed to be. It didn’t go exactly well for me, but the result was that I was actually heard. Sometimes I still feel like I have youngest child syndrome. I either feel like I’m not being heard at all. I feel like I will say something and nobody will hear me. I figure, I can either deal with this or I can be louder or more articulate with what I’m saying.

I also was screwed over by Jiffy Lube. Long story short, they broke my oil pan. While I did cave and only settled for them paying for half of the damages, I did write a few reviews that would steer away anyone looking at their social media pages. I was tasteful, and I did point out the actual problem, so I didn’t write a scathing review but I feel like that is the more “mature” way to go about it anyway.

So I’m trying. I’m trying to stand up for myself and not be a pushover. It’s a slow process but I’m working on it. Any suggestions on how to get better at it?

This Saturday Night Live parody version is hilarious too!

About juliagoolia1920

I'm a twenty something wannabee writer, who is trying to figure out this whole adulthood thing. In my free time, when I'm not writing, I enjoy beer and Netflix. Preferably together. I gravitate towards Cincinnati at night and live in the burbs during the day. On my blog you will find reviews, anecdotes, stories and the occasional rant.

Posted on May 27, 2015, in Past Entries and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Welcome back! Sorry to hear you’ve been so stressed lately.

    I wish I had some advice on what to do to stand up for yourself more and not be a pushover. Sadly, that’s a problem I have as well. I tend to let things go and tell myself it’s not worth the fight, but sometimes it is worth it. I’m trying to learn to speak up for myself more as well.

Leave a Reply

Debatably Dateable

But Poetry, Beauty, Romance, Love, these are what we stay alive for

GUM | Growing Up Millennial

& walking at the same time

Cafe Book Bean

Talk Books. Drink Coffee.

julia goolia

Aspiring Writer, Aspiring Adult

J'adore Journey

Inspiring people to live passionately, love deeply, and think consciously. ♥

In her shoes

"Life is either a daring adventure or nothing at all" - Hellen Keller

The Bold Bluebonnet

Adventures and blunders of a petite Texan

Some Good Eats

Eat and don't worry about it

trixtravels

22 year old Londoner, scratching off the world map.

Sara's Humble Blog

Posting things that matter........... to me.

The MAD MOVIE RANTER

''They call me Mr Over Critical'' - Just a guy moaning about film

Am I Thirty Yet

Hopefully by the time I'm thirty I'll have this all figured out.

{Michele.ology}

A late twenty-something attempting to maneuver her way through adulthood.

Someplace

...a blog about getting there.

