GET TO MEET A BLOGGER AND HER CITY

me
Hello everyone! I swear I meant to come back sooner but as usual. life got in the way. I have partnered with my blogger friend, Liz, who writes the compelling and highly entertaining blog: Am I Thirty Yet? I pitched her the idea of writing a post where we ask each other about the cities we’re from and are currently living in. Basically, I wanted to have an excuse to talk to Liz and ask her about New York City because both seem awesome! Check out my blog about Cincinnati/Northern Kentucky on her blog!

What’s the worst and best thing about living in New York?
The best is definitely the culture. You really can get anything you want in New York from food to entertainment. If you want to go out, you can always find something to do.

The worst is definitely the pricing. New York is just too expensive and everyday it becomes more and more not worth it. That whole culture thing that I said was the best thing about New York is slowing starting to fade. New York is really starting to lose its character and the people who make this city so great are constantly being priced out.
Do you drive or do you use other transportation from day to day?
I use public transportation to get to work because where I work parking is impossible. My commute to work is actually over an hour because I have to take a train to a ferry and then another train. My commute to work wears me out so I use my car any other time I’m going somewhere.
What are your top three favorite restaurants/cafes in NY?
Hmm, this was tough to just narrow it down to three. I feel like my answers would differ if you asked me on a different day. But here are the three I came up with:

1. Jpan in Brooklyn – This seems to be the go-to place for my friends when they are planning a birthday party or some other event. The inside area is pretty small but they have a nice outdoor eating area that’s really great in the warmer weather. The food is amazing and the waiters are the best. If you go you have to get the tuna dumpling!
2. Royale in Manhattan – Aside from Shake Shack (which I just felt weird putting since it’s technically fast food), this is the best place to get a burger in New York City. This place is all sorts of awesome. Delicious food, it’s cheap, and they have a great patio in the back. I have a thing for eating outside if you haven’t noticed.
3. Bayou Restaurant in Staten Island – This may be my favorite restaurant by default because it’s in my borough so it’s the easiest to get to. But it’s a really great restaurant. The decor is really cool, they have live music, and the food is delicious. They have a really great pre-fixe menu throughout the week that’s inexpensive and gets you an appetizer, entree, and dessert.

new york

What’s better NY pizza or NY cheesecake?
This is a super easy one for me because I don’t like cheesecake. But I think even if I did I’d still go with the pizza. You really cannot beat NY pizza!

Besides the usual touristy sites, what are some of your favorite places to visit?
My favorite place in New York City is definitely Brooklyn Bridge Park. It gives one of the best views of the skyline, is right under the Brooklyn Bridge (which is my favorite bridge), and it’s right near my favorite pizzeria. Also, Snug Harbor is a great place in New York that no tourist would be in because it’s in Staten Island. Staten Island is literally known as the forgotten borough.

Have you always lived in NY? If you haven’t, why did you move there?
I was born and raised in New York.

What have you learned from living in New York City?
I don’t know if I can come up with one specific thing that I’ve learned by living in New York. But growing up here has just made me who I am as a person. It’s helped shaped the way that I am. I will say one thing that I want other people to learn about New York: we are not nearly as rude as we are made out to be. Sure, we are always on the move and forget how to slow down sometimes but we really aren’t that mean. At lease most of us aren’t.

How crazy are the libraries there? Or are they pretty tame?
Where I live they are pretty tame. If you go into some of the libraries in the other boroughs things can get a bit wild. That’s as far as the patronage goes. But the decor of all NYC libraries are pretty tame. They have a code that they need to follow with the buildings so there isn’t a lot of room to get funky with design.
What advice would you give to someone who’s going to live in New York?
Don’t!!! Just kidding, sort of. If you really want to move to New York, make sure you do a lot of research first. You need to have a lot of money saved and make sure that you have a good job secured. Also, never, ever accept an apartment without actually seeing it. Realtors will lie about everything including the area the apartment is actually in.

Thanks so much for partnering with me Liz! What are some of your favorite things to do in New York?

About juliagoolia1920

I'm a twenty something wannabee writer, who is trying to figure out this whole adulthood thing. In my free time, when I'm not writing, I enjoy beer and Netflix. Preferably together. I gravitate towards Cincinnati at night and live in the burbs during the day. On my blog you will find reviews, anecdotes, stories and the occasional rant.

Posted on August 7, 2015, in Past Entries and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Thanks so much for the post. It looks awesome!

Leave a Reply

Debatably Dateable

But Poetry, Beauty, Romance, Love, these are what we stay alive for

GUM | Growing Up Millennial

& walking at the same time

Cafe Book Bean

Talk Books. Drink Coffee.

julia goolia

Aspiring Writer, Aspiring Adult

J'adore Journey

Inspiring people to live passionately, love deeply, and think consciously. ♥

In her shoes

"Life is either a daring adventure or nothing at all" - Hellen Keller

The Bold Bluebonnet

Adventures and blunders of a petite Texan

Some Good Eats

Eat and don't worry about it

trixtravels

22 year old Londoner, scratching off the world map.

Sara's Humble Blog

Posting things that matter........... to me.

The MAD MOVIE RANTER

''They call me Mr Over Critical'' - Just a guy moaning about film

Am I Thirty Yet

Hopefully by the time I'm thirty I'll have this all figured out.

{Michele.ology}

A late twenty-something attempting to maneuver her way through adulthood.

Someplace

...a blog about getting there.

