Christmas is Judy Garland

merry

It’s not Christmas unless Judy Garland is singing “Have Yourself A Merry Little Christmas”. Alright, I’m going to bestow onto you the bit of trivia I always annoy people with. Judy Garland was the first person to EVER sing this song, and she did so in the movie “Meet Me in St. Louis”, which premiered in 1944.

This is my favorite Christmas song and I cry almost every time I hear it. It resembles much more than your average typical Christmas song. It talks about dealing with the troubles ahead and trying to maintain Christmas spirit instead of being miserable with problems. I have a few female celebrity crushes, and Judy is definitely one of them. She was a classy lady who had a lot of crap to deal with. Judy Garland sings it so beautifully and with such conviction. It really sums up the movie and the way everyone should think about the holidays.

What I’m really trying to say is, there’s a lot of things going on during the holidays. I have been worrying and stressed, and I have good reason to feel those things, but I also need to stop and concentrate on what’s happening now. The rest of the holiday break I want to spend it with an optimistic attitude. It’s Christmas after all. If we don’t keep our hope, what is there?

What’s your favorite Christmas song?

Also, if you missed it, Hazel Hayes did an adorable 12 Christmas movies all in one take video! This Dodie Clark video is kind of adorable as well. ANNNDD just a side note, She and Him’s version of “Have Yourself A Merry Little Christmas” is kind of great too.

About juliagoolia1920

I'm a twenty something wannabee writer, who is trying to figure out this whole adulthood thing. In my free time, when I'm not writing, I enjoy beer and Netflix. Preferably together. I gravitate towards Cincinnati at night and live in the burbs during the day. On my blog you will find reviews, anecdotes, stories and the occasional rant.

Posted on December 23, 2015, in Past Entries and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

Debatably Dateable

Just another girl trying to figure out love

GUM | Growing Up Millennial

& walking at the same time

Cafe Book Bean

Talk Books. Drink Coffee.

julia goolia

Aspiring Writer, Aspiring Adult

J'adore Journey

Inspiring people to live passionately, love deeply, and think consciously. ♥

In her shoes

"Life is either a daring adventure or nothing at all" - Hellen Keller

The Bold Bluebonnet

Adventures and blunders of a petite Texan

Some Good Eats

Eat and don't worry about it

trixtravels

22 year old Londoner, scratching off the world map.

Sara's Humble Blog

Posting things that matter........... to me.

The MAD MOVIE RANTER

''They call me Mr Over Critical'' - Just a guy moaning about film

Am I Thirty Yet

Hopefully by the time I'm thirty I'll have this all figured out.

{Michele.ology}

A late twenty-something attempting to maneuver her way through adulthood.

Someplace

...a blog about getting there.

