Top Ten Ways To Maintain Your Mental Health

anne

Hey everyone! I know I never post anymore, but I’m trying to get back into the swing of things. I really do miss writing but I’ve been taking a mental health break because a lot of crap has been going on. I’m fine, but I needed some downtime and wanted to give myself the least amount of responsibility as possible. I was balancing wayyyyy too many things. Anyways, while I was gone these were the things that kept me sane. I hope these tips can work for you!

  1. Sometimes you need to take a sick day when you’re not sick. When you feel like you’re at a breaking point, take a day off. Nothing is worse than an emotional explosion that has you crying in public. Try to avoid these situations by take a mental health day and allowing yourself to sleep in and unwind.
  2. Think of projects that can keep you busy. Are you like me and have a yard that looks like Secret Garden, but like the first shot of the garden where everything is dead and sad and it looks abandoned? Yeah, you might want to spruce it up. Even if you’re lacking some cash just rake a few leaves, or pull some weeds around your home. It’ll make you feel better and your neighbors might appreciate you a bit more. Don’t have a garden? Sew, play video games, do a puzzle, cook or scrapbook. Productivity is key. I tend to make lists of all the things I need to do. I love crossing things off when they’re done.
  3. Let yourself get lost in a TV show or book. I personally find myself wrapped up in books but occasionally I will get way too obsessed with characters in a show (Game of Thrones stresses me out on a weekly basis).
  4. Find a new place to go. I like to try new places, it takes me out of my comfort zone and puts me in a whole new mindset.
  5. Help someone with an issue they’re having or make someone’s day better. I like cooking and baking so I’ll make someone something and it’s my little way of improving someone’s day.
  6. Ask yourself, if this going to damage or change my life in the next year, in the next five years or the next ten years? If the answers to one or all of those are yes, then well you have a bit of a problem on your hands. You might want to dwell on the issue for a moment, but don’t let it consume you. Realize that you will have this problem for awhile and that you have time to think it over. If the answer to all of those questions are no; don’t spend time on it. It’s going to be over, it sucked but move on.
  7. Hike or exercise. I usually am bad at taking this advice, but when I do finally get my butt in gear, it helps. I also hate jogging, thanks Parks and Recreation, so I mainly find sports/activities that make me forget I’m working out.
  8. Write down everything that makes you happy. It sounds dumb but when you finish the list (most of the time) you will see all of the things that make you feel happy and want to reconsider your bad mood/mindset.
  9. Listen to music. It could be really sad, happy or really loud. I personally go back to me “emo” days and listen to screamo music and shout the lyrics. However, listening to sad music makes me more pensive and I end up writing.
  10. Scream curse words (hopefully in a place where people won’t stare at you… unless that’s your thing). Say the worst things imaginable. This relieves stress, believe me. However, curse responsibly  🙂 .

    How do you maintain your mental health?

About juliagoolia1920

I'm a twenty something wannabee writer, who is trying to figure out this whole adulthood thing. In my free time, when I'm not writing, I enjoy beer and Netflix. Preferably together. I gravitate towards Cincinnati at night and live in the burbs during the day. On my blog you will find reviews, anecdotes, stories and the occasional rant.

Posted on May 17, 2016, in Past Entries and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. Thanks for this post! When I’m down I usually like to do what I’m doing now! Reading blogs and other articles from people who have similar experiences. It always helps me feel less alone and makes me see the bright side of things!

  2. Love this post. Definitely bookmarking it for those times when I need a mental health break.

Leave a Reply

Debatably Dateable

But Poetry, Beauty, Romance, Love, these are what we stay alive for

GUM | Growing Up Millennial

& walking at the same time

Cafe Book Bean

Talk Books. Drink Coffee.

julia goolia

Aspiring Writer, Aspiring Adult

J'adore Journey

Inspiring people to live passionately, love deeply, and think consciously. ♥

In her shoes

"Life is either a daring adventure or nothing at all" - Hellen Keller

The Bold Bluebonnet

Adventures and blunders of a petite Texan

Some Good Eats

Eat and don't worry about it

trixtravels

22 year old Londoner, scratching off the world map.

Sara's Humble Blog

Posting things that matter........... to me.

The MAD MOVIE RANTER

''They call me Mr Over Critical'' - Just a guy moaning about film

Am I Thirty Yet

Hopefully by the time I'm thirty I'll have this all figured out.

{Michele.ology}

A late twenty-something attempting to maneuver her way through adulthood.

Someplace

...a blog about getting there.

